Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Sunshine may be looking a little dubious, but that doesn’t mean this hungry weasel won’t enjoy every minute of the long weekend. I’ll be spending it munching my way around the capital in search of new Edinburgh culinary adventures.

Queenie may favour a cucumber sarnie or two, but if you fancy something to royally tantalise your taste buds, then read on for my top five tips for things to eat (and drink!) in Edinburgh and beyond over the Jubilee weekend…

1.Head to Porty beach for an ice cream

I don’t know about you, but I still enjoy an ice cream by the seaside as much as I did as a kiddie! Just make sure you eat it before it melts everywhere. Pop along to Portobello Market on Saturday and peruse the lovely produce – from cakes and jam, to soap and crafty gifts.

2.Look into the Looking Glass

The latest newcomer to Edinburgh’s coffee, cake and erm…book scene is Looking Glass Books – an independent book shop, which I hear sells a wicked coffee and sumptuous cakes from Lovecrumbs. I’ll certainly be investigating this place soon.

3.Skip along to Stockbridge Market

Get your hands on some perfect Sunday brunch sausages from this compact little market by the Water of Leith. An Artisan Coffee is sure to blow away any cobwebs from the night before.

4.Raise a glass

On Monday I’ll be joining some ale nutters…oh I mean enthusiasts, for an epic journey across Edinburgh taking in 10 of the best ale pubs including Dirty Dicks and Brewdog Bar. You can sign up for the event right…here.

5.Feeling Fyne

Fynefest takes place on the banks of stunning Loch Fyne and offers plenty of beer, food and entertainment to keep you busy all weekend. Try some of those famous Loch Fyne Oysters, washed down with some of Fyne Ales finest…

Oh yes! And a happy Jubilee to you, your Madge! I know she loves reading my blog.

What are your foodie plans for the weekend?